mjmaxwell

Gameweek 15 Review – Goalie vs Striker

In 2011/12 on December 12, 2011 at 10:21 pm

It's all about the bonus points scoreboard

I went to the Emirates this weekend to see Arsenal beat Everton 1-0.  Following Arsenal’s 125st birthday celebration the game was quite flat.  Everton were pretty solid although Arsenal got in behind a few times making the most of Walcott and Gervinho’s pace .

Walcott was the best Arsenal attacker for me, giving Baines the run around all game.  That was until RvP did what he did best.  The Arsenal striker’s goal was one of the best I have seen live and surely worthy of 3 bonus points.  The technique was incredible.  It was a shot I have seen attempted many times but never resulting in connection of the ball, let alone a goal.  Normally ending up missed or in row Z.

At the other end there was not much happening and Everton didn’t manage 1 shot on goal.

On my way out of the ground I was talking to my mate about fantasy premier league and bonus points on offer.  Following the RvP goal I thought he was a must for 3 bonus points with the others going to; Theo and Song (for the assist).

When the bonus points were awarded imagine my surprise to see RvP (scorer of goal of the season so far) on joint points with Wojciech Szczesny the (Arsenal goalie) who didn’t have 1 save to make.  When I found out about this (through @labwam) I thought something fishy was going on.  Surely a fix.  I needed to find out more.

It's all about the bonus points - Szczesny RvP

It’s all about the bonus points – Szczesny vs RvP

When I looked at the numbers I was surprised.  Not only did Szczesny make more passes than RvP (30 vs. 22) his pass completion rate was much higher (80% vs. 72%).  Granted the majority of Szczesny’s were under 10 yards to the full backs but still I was surprised to see the GK make more passes than the star striker.

So is a high pass completion rate more likely to be rewarded by #fantasypremierleague with bonus points than a 25 yard first time volley?  It looks so.

Leave a Reply

