mjmaxwell

Gameweek 7: Why is Fantasy Premier League so addictive?

In 2010/11 on October 2, 2010 at 10:50 pm

For the past five years I have been playing fantasy premier league, with my performance steadily improving year on year*.  In 2009/10; I finished 202nd, won my money league for the third consecutive season and lost a mate for two months in the process.

But what makes Fantasy Premier League so addictive?

I was always one of those kids who liked the analytical side of things; more championship manager than pro evo you could say.  I think it was something to do with the combination of football, making money and being competitive with my mates and it is these reasons that makes fantasy football so addictive for me.

Fantasy football can make or break moods whilst giving you a reason to watch crap like Wigan – Wolves on a wet Sunday afternoon.

On this blog I’ll try and uncover any of the fantasy football myths, pick a few players to look out for each gameweek and answer any questions you have.

All except for, “how do they award bonus points?!?”

* Team Alpha points

2006/07 1917 27,811
2007/08 2192 11,403
2008/09 2059 6,670
2009/10 2501 202
  1. I have got gradually worse. Explain that alpha beat

    • Great question Mickey.You’ve got to have a team thats true to yourself.I think its because you have Torres as captain.

  2. My friends laugh at me because I am rubbish at this game. In fact I’m rubbish at most games, I’m actually rubbish at everything I do, including the fact I can’t get a girl. Please help me alpha man

    • Jimbo – help is on its way. This Gameweek I will provide a must have guide to picking a captain – once you get that right the rest will fall into place.

  3. I’m looking forward to seeing the intricacies of the world of fantasy football unfolding before my eyes. Considering I scored 29 points this past week, I need all the help I can get. Nice start to the blog!

Leave a Reply

